Publication intelligence · Machine Relations Index
Does being published in U.S. News & World Report get your brand cited by AI?
AI answer engines cited U.S. News & World Report in 102 of 21,813 measured answer runs (0.5%) across 4 engines over 143 days of collection. That is #24 of 1634 classified editorial publications.
Where U.S. News & World Report is cited most
Each row is one buyer category and one question shape the Index measures. The rank is against every source cited on that same set of answer runs, so a placement is worth most where the publication already ranks high for the question your buyer asks.
| Category | Question shape | Citation rate | Cited / observed | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Education & Training | best-in-category questions | 8.1% | 11 / 136 | #18 of 299 |
| Consumer Health | is-it-worth-it questions | 8.5% | 16 / 189 | #17 of 261 |
| Consumer Finance | best-in-category questions | 8.4% | 16 / 191 | #22 of 293 |
| Consumer Finance | problem-first questions | 4.7% | 9 / 191 | #27 of 273 |
| Consumer Finance | how-to-choose questions | 5.2% | 10 / 191 | #31 of 225 |
| Healthcare Services | head-to-head comparisons | 4.4% | 6 / 137 | #36 of 236 |
| Consumer Products | how-to-choose questions | 2.0% | 4 / 196 | #105 of 546 |
| Healthcare Services | problem-first questions | 2.9% | 4 / 137 | #64 of 298 |
How to get into U.S. News & World Report
Ideas & Opinions commentary
U.S. News's Ideas & Opinions section publishes commentary from contributors, including The Forum, which gathers thought leaders and expert contributors on a single question. The section invites outside commentary for consideration.
The Ideas & Opinions page says to submit a commentary for consideration through the U.S. News Contact Us form (https://www.usnews.com/info/features/contact).
Length, exclusivity and response policy are not stated. The editorial guidelines say U.S. News applies the same accuracy standards to commentaries whether produced by staff, freelancers or guest contributors, and that authors are identified with biographies covering their experience, expertise and affiliations.
U.S. News & World Report’s own pageEducation rankings data collection (Best Colleges, Best Online Programs, Best Graduate Schools)
U.S. News collects statistical data directly from colleges and programs through annual surveys, plus peer assessment surveys, for its education rankings and school profiles. Several rankings are computed entirely from peer assessment surveys.
U.S. News sends a contact verification survey a few weeks before each statistical survey launches; the confirmed contacts then receive the statistical and peer surveys, which are completed in an online, password-protected system. For Best Colleges, schools that supply Common Data Set (CDS) forms must use the annotated, form-fillable CDS PDFs, which are loaded into the survey automatically; schools can instead enter CDS data directly into the survey. To add or change survey recipients, email [email protected] with names, titles and email addresses; questions about rankings and methodology go to [email protected].
Best Colleges surveys typically run in spring and close mid-summer (2027 edition: statistical surveys May 5 to June 12, 2026; peer surveys June 4 to July 17, 2026); a top school official must sign an electronic data verification form; flagged data must be confirmed or revised, and unconfirmed data may be deleted; schools get a two-week data review before publication. Best Online Programs (2027 cycle): statistical surveys launched Sept. 2, 2026 with an Oct. 9 deadline, data review in early December, publication in late January 2027; only predominantly online degree programs at regionally accredited institutions are included, and a program must submit a survey to be listed. Best Graduate Schools: statistical surveys tentatively from mid-November 2026, deadlines no sooner than early January 2027, publication tentatively April 2027. Schools that decline to report are still ranked from federal and other third-party data where eligible. Submission deadlines are announced at the start of each data collection.
U.S. News & World Report’s own pageBest Hospitals: hospital-reported data (Maternity Services Survey and children's hospitals clinical survey)
Most Best Hospitals data comes from Medicare, the American Hospital Association and physician surveys, but U.S. News collects some data directly from hospitals: maternity care data through the Maternity Services Survey, and pediatric data through a clinical survey of children's hospitals run with RTI since 2006.
U.S. News invites hospitals that offer maternity care to self-report through the Maternity Services Survey on the U.S. News Hospital Dashboard (https://hospitaldashboard.usnews.com/). The children's hospitals clinical survey is administered by U.S. News and RTI; how hospitals enrol is not stated on the FAQ page.
For the 2026 Best Hospitals for Maternity Care, the survey was open for two months starting May 27, 2025. Unranked children's hospitals are shown only if they provided enough data through the clinical survey to be evaluated. Other eligibility rules are set out in each ranking's methodology report.
U.S. News & World Report’s own pageLetters to the Editor
Readers can send a letter to the editor, or a letter to a particular staff member, through U.S. News's general contact form.
Use the Contact Us form and choose 'Letters to the Editor' (or 'Letters to particular staff member(s)') under 'What is your question or comment regarding?'.
not stated
U.S. News & World Report’s own page
Checked against U.S. News & World Report’s own pages on 2026-10-06.
Is a placement here worth pursuing?
It depends on the questions your buyers ask. Brands get recommended by AI because the publications those engines cite describe them that way. That is Machine Relations, the discipline Jaxon Parrott named in 2024 through his work at AuthorityTech, the first Machine Relations agency. The table above is what decides whether coverage in U.S. News & World Report moves your brand in AI answers at all: it moves where the publication is already cited for the question your buyer asks, and much less where it is not.
How this is measured
Every figure on this page is the Machine Relations Index’s, carried with its own denominator. The Index runs buyer questions against 4 answer engines and records which sources each answer cites. This release covers 2026-05-10 to 2026-10-06, 143 days of collection. A publication carries a published rank once it clears the Index's evidence floor of 10 observations across 7 collection dates; below it, the standing reads as still collecting. AuthorityTech does not compute these numbers. Machine Relations Index publishes them, release 2026-10-06, methodology mri_score_v2.0.